DBA(REGULATION) - EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS: CREDENTIALS AND RECORDS
Employment Requirements Related to Driving a School Bus
This administrative regulation applies to all individuals who seek employment or continued employment for positions that may require driving a school bus.
Not Currently Licensed
For applicants who are not currently licensed and who are not currently certified bus drivers, as conditions of preemployment, an individual seeking a position as a certified bus driver, who does not currently possess a Class A or B commercial driver's license (CDL) and who is not currently certified by the state of Texas to drive a school bus, shall successfully complete the following steps:
Applicant shall complete an employment application at the Transportation Department office.
The Director or Assistant Director of Transportation shall interview the applicant.
The Director of Transportation shall receive positive responses to three reference checks.
The applicant shall receive a clear driving history report from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
The applicant shall pass the required CDL written examination and obtain a Class B temporary permit in order to drive a District school bus during the District-provided behind-the-wheel training. Applicant is required to pay the appropriate licensing fee.
The applicant shall undergo a physical examination and drug/alcohol test at District expense, and a TB test at applicant's expense.
An applicant who remains as a candidate for employment shall pass the driving portion of the CDL at the first opportunity available. The District will make available to the applicant up to 20 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training prior to taking the driving portion of the examination. The applicant shall not receive any form of compensation for his or her time. The District shall furnish to the applicant use of a school bus to perform the required CDL driving examination.
After successful completion of the CDL driving examination, the District will provide the applicant up to ten hours of training behind-the-wheel in preparation for driving a school bus the District. The applicant shall not receive any form of compensation for time spent during such training.
The applicant's criminal history record shall be in compliance with District requirements.
Upon successful completion of the requirements in items 5–9, the applicant may be recommended for employment by the Director of Transportation.
The applicant who has fulfilled the requirements under items 1–9, and who has been hired by the District as a school bus driver, shall attend the first available 20-hour School Bus Driver Certification course as required by the state of Texas. The staff member shall not receive any form of compensation for time spent attending such course.
Each newly employed bus driver shall be evaluated a minimum of two times during the first 90 days of employment. Such evaluations shall be documented and reviewed with the staff member.
A newly employed bus driver shall become eligible for benefits the first day of employment.
Applicants who currently possess a Class A or B CDL and who are not currently certified bus drivers shall comply with all provisions of items 1–4 and 6–12 above.
Current CDL License
Applicants who currently possess a Class A or B CDL and who are currently certified by the state of Texas to drive a school bus shall comply with all provisions of items 1–4, 6, and 8–12, above. The provisions requirements of item 8, NOT CURRENTLY LICENSED, above, are modified to require that the staff member shall attend and successfully complete an eight-hour School Bus Driver Recertification course as required by the state of Texas in addition to an amount of District training time to be determined by the trainer. Such recertification course is required every three years. The staff member shall not receive any form of compensation for time spent attending such course.
A current staff member certified as a school bus driver seeking continued employment as a bus driver or other positions which may require the staff member to drive a school bus shall:
Be required to pass a physical examination at District's expense.
Attend and successfully complete an eight-hour recertification course as required by the state of Texas. Such recertification course is required every three years. The staff member shall not receive any form of compensation for time spent attending such course.